Administration.—The non-government stations operate under the Canadian Broadcasting Act, administered by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, and under regulations made by the CBC, in addition to the Radio Act administered by the Department of Transport, and regulations made thereunder by that Department. Proof-of-performance statements showing public service, community service and like activities, together with financial statements, must be filed annually with the CBC and the Department of Transport. Regulations limit the amount of advertising that may be carried in any spot announcement or program and the number of announcements that may be carried in any given period of time. Program schedules must be approved in advance by the CBC and food, drug and medicine copy must be approved by the Department of National Health and Welfare.

Licences of the privately owned stations, valid for five years but subject to cancellation at any time during that period, are granted by the Government of Canada upon recommendation of the Board of Governors of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. The sale or transfer of any stock or shares held in any broadcasting station must be approved by the Government of Canada after review by the CBC.

Network Operations.—Network operation in Canada is at present restricted to the CBC in both AM and television fields. The CBC also has sole right—except for four private stations—to bring in commercial and other network programs from the United States. Many privately owned stations, however, serve as outlets—either basic or supplementary—for CBC network programs. Under the Broadcasting Act any station may be required to carry any program designated by the CBC.

Television.—At the end of May 1954, there were 17 non-government television stations licensed in Canada, located at Sydney, N.S., Saint John, N.B., Rimouski, Quebec City and Sherbrooke, Que., Kingston, Peterborough, Hamilton, Kitchener, London, Windsor, Sudbury, and Port Arthur, Ont., Regina and Saskatoon, Sask., and Calgary and Edmonton, Alta. Five applications for such licences were pending at that date. The same terms of licence and regulations applying to AM broadcasting apply also to television broadcasting, with the additional requirement that the television broadcaster must carry a minimum of 10·5 hours weekly of CBC-produced material.

The present policy of the Government permits the licensing of one non-government television broadcasting station in any area of Canada, other than Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, Vancouver, Winnipeg, and Halifax. These major areas are reserved exclusively for television broadcasting stations owned and operated by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

PART IV.—THE POST OFFICE

The Canada Post Office Department was created at the time of Confederation in 1867 by the Canada Post Office Act to superintend and manage the postal service of Canada under the direction of a Postmaster General. For almost a century prior to Confederation, postal services in the Canadian provinces had been controlled by the British Postmaster General and administered by his deputies. Under the French régime a courier service had been organized as early as 1703 between 92428—60½